Name: Travis | Gender: Male | Posts: 19 | Roses: 10
Old 01-15-2010 at 03:58 PM
HedgesPictures
Wandering Child
The Fan Of The Opera

Roaming Dungeons
(Performer Is Offline)
The Fan Of The Opera (A new musical, parody, feature-length movie)  Post [1]

Thought I would start a thread about the movie I'm making, FAN OF THE OPERA.

I've been a PHAN since I was 14 (am now 27), and since I'm also an indie filmmaker, doing a PHAN FILM was always a goal. Now it is finally coming to pass. I also started writing at 14 and this year I will have been actually making movies for 10 years - so it is a very exciting time.

It's a parody (think Mel Brooks does TPOTO), but also has a few tender moments/ideas. For the most part the story follows a similar line as Webber's musical, however there are many asides that poke fun at other versions of the story.

The script is written. It's currently 96 pages. I tried to reference every incarnation of the story at LEAST once.

Right now I'm working with two musicians to make it a musical, and that is very exciting.

We start serious fundraising in the spring, shoot this summer, and will screen it here in Louisiana in the fall.

We are a low-budget indie company (so don't look for this in Blockbuster any time soon), but we shoot with HD cameras and are very professional.

I'm happy to discuss the project and hope you will all keep checking back for updates! Any questions PLEASE ask - this movie is being made for the PHANTOM obsessed, so consider yourself a part of it! Ask away!

Here are a bunch of links....
The movie's page: http://hedgespictures.com/fanoftheopera.html
My company's page: http://hedgespictures.com/home.html

If you want to see some of our work, this is the video most of interest to musical theater-inclined folk - a music video of DANGEROUS GAME from Frank Wildhorn's JEKYLL AND HYDE: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TJRt4WX4Tj8 (There are other videos on our YouTube page as well)