The Phantom's Opera
Go Back   The Phantom's Opera The Lair of the Phantom The House on the Lake
Remember Me?

View Poll Results: Is your favorite a...
musical 0 0%
book 0 0%
movie 0 0%
Multiple Choice Poll. Voters: 0. You may not vote on this poll

Viewing Thread: 1 [0 Performers and 1 Ghosts]

Name: kayla | Gender: girl | Posts: 13 | Roses: 10
Old 11-08-2009 at 10:19 PM
Christine's next face
Wandering Child
in love with the phantom

Roaming Dungeons
(Performer Is Offline)
What's your favorite version (book, movie, musical) of the story?  Post [1]

I was wondering others opininons on the topic. I am new to being in love with the phantom only haveing seen the first half of the 2004 version for my music class. I want some suggestions/opinions on the best versions. I perfur versions that portray it as more of a love triangle between Roule, Christine, and the phantom Eric.
Christine's next face's Profile Send Private Message Search Posts Reply With Quote

Name: Aviana | Gender: Ange de Musique | Posts: 98 | Roses: 10
Old 11-09-2009 at 12:59 AM
Soprano Rose
Wandering Child
Opera Performer

Roaming Dungeons
(Performer Is Offline)
 Post [2]

First of all, welcome to the site! I'm new here, too, but have been familiar with the story for quite some time now. Feel free to PM me any time.

Back on topic....

My personal favorite version of the story would have to be Leroux's original novel. Mainly because I don't think you can fully understand any other version without knowing your roots, and it really is a good book, despite some rather choppy translations.

However, a pretty close second would be the Andrew Llloyd Webber musical. It has a very beautiful and haunting score, great lyrics, gorgeous design.... It really is a wonderful production.

In third would be the 1925 silent film with Lon Chaney. I also thought the 1990 miniseries was pretty good.

P.S. Their names are spelled 'Erik' and 'Raoul'.
Soprano Rose's Profile Send Private Message Search Posts Reply With Quote